Sun’s Shining and the Living’s Easy…

14 Apr

Yesterday, I facebooked (also, I love how Facebook has become a verb) that I was less than enthused. In truth, I was downright grumpy. I just was not feeling it. It was one of those days where the round of bad news just kept coming. DS has more than 18,000 articles that need to be approved, and a lack of copy editors. While, I am not faulting the company and I know they are working to rectify it, one article approval in the past seven days is a bit much. No one can live off a $16 paycheck. I found out the non-profit I do occasional work for has not received some funding. The particular funding was supposed to be paying my new, shiny, part-time job. Again, it’s not anyone’s fault, but it just was the mustard on my craptastic sandwich yesterday.

It had been raining steadily, and often heavily, since Monday evening. While I love a good, cleansing rain from time to time. I needed some sunshine, desperately. It was just one of those days where my mood was as bleak as the sky. I could not seem to get my head into the right space to pump out a different article. I spent most of my day reading the same research over and over.

Today…well today was one of those days that just made me want to jump for joy. After yesterday’s grump fest, I woke up determined to make today a better day. I was greeted by sunny skies and bird chirping. It was warm, and finally beginning to feel like spring in these western Philadelphia suburbs. FINALLY.

So, I set out to enjoy myself. Anne also had the day off, so it was even better that I could spend such a perfect day with my favorite person. We started off with a lazy morning, and probably too many cups of coffee. Then, we headed out to Marsh Creek State Park for an afternoon picnic and a walk along the lakeshore. Boat rentals are only open during the weekends for now, so we did not head out on the water, just soaked up the sun and enjoyed some conversation.

After that, it was off to Chester County Public Library to scoop up a new round of books. We parked in an area overlooking the creek that runs through the grounds of the library. Anne mentioned it would be fitting to see a duck floating along, because the water was moving very quickly. On the way out, a pretty, green-headed, male wood duck floated by, much like the one pictured above (thanks to Photoxpress).

With a new bundle of books, it was off to the local dollar store for some cheap frozen treats. We dined on our ice cream at the picnic benches at Miller Park. We finished up our afternoon adventure by reading in the shade and then taking a walk along the park’s woodland boardwalk.

This was exactly what I needed to lift up my spirits. I came home feeling renewed and rejuvenated. Tomorrow, I plan to do some more job searching and expand my client base. I love DS, but I am figuring out more and more about my long-term goals each day. It’s definitely time to grow.

What do you do to shake away the blues?

One Response to “Sun’s Shining and the Living’s Easy…”

  1. Emily Jane April 15, 2011 at 8:08 am #

    I’m glad the blues all got washed away :) For me I make a playlist of my favourites and crank them up really loud – usually does the trick :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

