Not Ready to Say Goodbye

25 Aug

Despite the unseasonably cool temperature in my neck of the woods, I am finding myself hoping for a few more days of summer sunshine. I adore the fall, it is my favorite time of year. I will certainly embrace it with open arms. But I love the color and wonder of summertime craft projects.

While looking through the every lovely Country Living website, I came across this article on easy, summer craft project. Insert *swoon* here.

Bandanna Table Runner

photo copyright: Country Living

How adorable and ingenious is that. I think I will definitely be collecting some bandannas to sew together for my summer table next year. Unless I move to a tent in Yosemite, but that’s another story for another day.

Colored Pencil Vase

photo copyright: Country Living

I want these for every room in my house, in colors to match of course. For this project simply hot glue colored pencils together. Cut a piece of cardboard for the base and tie colored ribbons around the top and bottom. To hold fresh cut flowers, put a smaller glass vase inside to hold water.

Fabric Covered Books

Photo copyright: Country Living

Use vintage, floral or toile (or anything that strikes your fancy really) to cover old journals, cookbooks or pretty much any hardcovered book. Super cute way to update a favorite cookbook collection and make it a display piece in the kitchen. Find project instructions here.

Are you ready for the fall or clinging to the last bits of summer?

One Response to “Not Ready to Say Goodbye”

  1. Sarah August 26, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    I love all of these crafty ideas! I’m not sure if I’m clinging to summer, or ready for fall… this summer has to be one of the best yet, when you consider heat/etc. I’m ready for more bonfires though, and that will come with fall!!

Leave a Reply

