Finding Peace…

11 Sep

Sometimes there is a single place in the world that can fill you instantly with peace, calm and wonder. For my brother, it’s definitely the beach. For me, there is nothing quite like a library. (Yes, I am this much of a dork!)

The rows and rows of carefully ordered books. The overstuffed furniture. The smell. Every single thing in a library calls to me. A few years back, I was accepted to a Master’s program for Library Science. I talked myself out of it. I don’t know why I do these things. Obviously, it’s my happy place. Should it be my career as well?

I don’t know, but it is definitely still something to think about. I guess I will have to keep thinking and try to get my financial situation straightened out from undergrad before I can really decide if going back is the right dream. We shall see.

For now my dreams will not be filled with sugar plums fairies or a day at the beach. I will dream of stacks and stacks of books and all of the world’s information at my fingertips.

photo credit: PhotoXpress

What place or things bring you peace?

3 Responses to “Finding Peace…”

  1. Heather Rae September 11, 2010 at 11:09 pm #

    I LOVE the library, too! Such a good question. Let’s see…my favorite places are the library, any book store that doesn’t mind if I sit and look through books for hours, the beach, and any beautiful hiking trail. I love those places. 🙂

    • erinmakesitwork September 12, 2010 at 9:05 am #

      Sounds like we would have a wonderful time hiking and looking through book stores. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Finding Joy… « Erin Makes It Work - October 6, 2010

    […] I have previously posted about how much I love the library, and nothing helps me escape the stress or discover joy like reading. Books are magic, […]

Leave a Reply

