It All Started With Some Green Yarn…

13 Oct

A winter or two ago, I took my basic crochet ability and somehow figured out how to crochet a circle. From there, I came up with my own way of constructing hats and made a few for my wife.

While I was working on another project recently, my brother expressed interest in a hat of his own.  With some hunter green yarn I set to work. Typically, I crochet a large round band before separating the project into four equal sections. From there I crochet large triangles. Then I flip the project inside out and close up the edges and the top.

I started this hat the same way, but ended up with a hat that was rather pointy and kind of elf-like.  So I flipped it inside out again and folded it inside until it resembled a envelope.

Honestly, I am completely unsure of how I did this or if I could do it again, but I am quite proud of it.

View from the Front

The Back

Envelope Fold

Look Ma, I'm a Model

6 Responses to “It All Started With Some Green Yarn…”

  1. Sarah October 13, 2010 at 8:38 pm #

    Look at you being all creative!!!

    • erinmakesitwork October 14, 2010 at 5:41 pm #

      Yeah I give it a shot. Also, finally a picture of me on my own blog. lol.

  2. Kyla Roma October 14, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

    That’s so cool! I’ve been wanting to learn how to crochet a hat, I’m jealous! 🙂

    • erinmakesitwork October 14, 2010 at 4:55 pm #

      Thanks! I am pretty happy with it. It was kind of super easy to do too which I wasn’t expecting since I was just kind of making it up while I went.

  3. Jenni October 15, 2010 at 8:18 am #

    I’d love to be able to knit a hat!

    I can just about master a basic scarf… not the most interesting of things!

    Looks great!

    • erinmakesitwork October 15, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

      Next time I make one I will try to post it step by step as I make it. I don’t know how much it’ll help though, because I really don’t have any idea how to follow a pattern.

Leave a Reply

