Erin Likes to Read: The Prep Edition

29 Nov

After a recent trip to my local library, I picked up the book Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld. This book, published in 2005, was something I remember seeing a lot on the bus and train during my corporate commutes a few weeks ago, and made it to the New York Times Book Review list of 10 Best Books of the Year

The book follows the life of Lee Fiora through her four years at the Ault Prep School in Massachusetts. Lee, the daughter of a middle class family from South Bend, Indiana finds herself ill prepared for life among the “bank boys” and daughters of affluent families.

One of the things that impressed me most about this story was Sittenfeld’s ability to truly capture the emotion of a young, high school aged girl in a voice that was both intelligent and respectable. The book is written in Lee’s voice, looking back on her time at Ault, and every word rings true. High school certainly is not an easy time for Lee–from her painfully, lonely freshman, building friendships with Martha and discovering passion with Cross Sugarman.

I honestly loved Lee’s story and Prep became one of those books I was unable to put down. Sittenfeld tackles a topic that could easily be dismissed as “chick lit,” but she writes with such authenticity that this book bridges the gap between fluff and literature. I found myself rushing through my to-do list in order to pick it up and finish reading. Definitely scores a solid recommendation for me.

What’s on your reading list?

4 Responses to “Erin Likes to Read: The Prep Edition”

  1. Heather Rae November 29, 2010 at 12:39 am #

    Ooh, I’ve seen this one and have thought about reading it. You’ve talked me into it! Thanks for the review. 🙂

  2. Ellen December 2, 2010 at 11:11 pm #

    Hey! I found your blog from over at Kenz holiday swap (which I signed up for, too). I wanted to let you know that I read this book a couple of years ago and really liked it. I think there are one or two other books out there by this author. My reason for wanting to read it? Because I’m from South Bend (not a very good reason, I admit, but not many books are based in Northern Indiana I don’t think). Anyway, I hope you enjoy it. Right now I just finished The Help and would recommend that one hundred times over….especially on audio. The readers were some of the best I’ve ever listened to and it was like hearing a performance – brilliant.

    • erinmakesitwork December 2, 2010 at 11:25 pm #

      Thanks Ellen! I loved Prep. It was beautifully written, in my opinion. I am definitely going to add The Help to my reading list. 🙂 I hope you stop by again.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Erin Likes to Read: The Man of My Dreams Edition « Erin Makes It Work - December 20, 2010

    […] time again. I have finished another book I was just dying to share with you. Since I truly loved Prep, I found myself plucking another book by Curtis Sittenfeld off the library […]

Leave a Reply

