Baked Apples with Blackberry Sauce

3 Dec

It’s been awhile since I have posted a recipe centric post, and I have to admit, I have kind of missed them. I mean I love my creative inspiration, book reviews and Christmas cheer posts, but the recipes were what I originially started this blog about.

So, I am pretty familiar with making baked apples with cinnamon, sugar, brown sugar and  melted butter. It’s a fairly traditional method. However, last night I had 7 to 8 small apples that needed to be used up. I knew I did not have any brown sugar or cinnamon on hand, but I was craving baked apples.

So, I came up with the idea of making an untraditional sauce for them.

Things You’ll Need:

7 to 8 small apples (or 4 to 5 larger ones)
1 cup of corn syrup (or make simple syrup*)
6 tablespoons of blackberry preserves
2 tablespoons of lemon juice
1/2 stick of melted butter

Begin by cutting up all the apples into small chunks and preheating the oven to 350 degrees.

 

Melt the butter in the microwave. Mix together the other ingredients in a large bowl and slowly stir in the butter. You may need to use the back side of the spoon to mash up the blackberry preserves. Pour sauce over the apples.

Next, back the apples and sauce for about 40 minutes, until the apples begin to turn slightly brown. ENJOY!

What’s your favorite baked fruit recipe?

3 Responses to “Baked Apples with Blackberry Sauce”

  1. Kyla Roma December 6, 2010 at 9:01 am #

    Oh wow, I’ve never had anything like this! Would you just eat it as is, or put it in shells? 🙂

    • erinmakesitwork December 6, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

      I just ate it as is in a bowl. It would be really good with some vanilla ice cream or you could use it as a pie filling too I am sure. 🙂

  2. Emily Jane December 8, 2010 at 1:02 pm #

    This looks just divine! I’m a big fan of microwaving apples covered in oatmeal and brown sugar. Or rhubarb crumble…

Leave a Reply

