Renewing Promises to Myself…

9 Dec

I live in a world where I continually put other people first. It’s not because I have  no desire to take care of myself, exactly the opposite. I get pleasure out of making sure the people I care about most are well taken care of, happy and healthy. Sometimes, I expend so much energy doing this that my priorities for myself get pushed to the bottom of the list.

As we approach the New Year, many of us are reflecting on the past year and creating direction for 2011. Though I didn’t do the Reverb 10 prompts, I have been doing a fair amount of that myself.  As a result, I have created a list of promises I am renewing my promises to myself.

  1. Exercise–I started 2010 with a promise to kick obesity in the butt, and I am blogging about it over at In It to Gym It. So, I am renewing my promise to myself to exercise 30 minutes each day.
  2. Embracing Joy–I am also making an effort to find more joy in my life.

Stay tuned for more posts about what brings me joy. Where do you find joy?

 

4 Responses to “Renewing Promises to Myself…”

  1. Michele December 10, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    HI, Erin,
    Most of the time I find joy doing things with who I love: hubby and grandbabies (and of course my adult children). But, I also find joy in certain kinds of music, snow falling on crisp and clear nights, full moons, a great book, Christmas lights and riding my bike.

    Your package is on the way. I blogged about it on my last post. Have a great weekend!
    Michele
    http://ruminationsasiuncoverthewomanwithin.blogspot.com/2010/12/nemesis-cookie-baking-12-days-of.html

    • erinmakesitwork December 10, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

      I too find joy in my family, full moons and a good book. I’m so excited to get my package, yours is on the way as well, so keep an eye out for it. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Brittney December 13, 2010 at 9:31 am #

    You know, I blogged about it, but I learned a lot this year both about my emotional eating/weight and how I view devoting time to myself (i.e. I had trouble taking time for myself because I prefer to focus on everyone else and didn’t realize how large this had become) from that book I read… and I am hoping to really keep applying it in 2011. I think the Etsy was one of those steps and remembering to take time to blog, etc.

  3. Emily Jane December 13, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

    It’s hard when you’re wired to want to make other people happy to justify taking time for yourself – I feel the same way! Though it’s important to remember that you’re only going to be better able to help others if you take care of you, too 🙂

Leave a Reply

