Erin Likes to Read: The Man of My Dreams Edition

20 Dec

So, it’s that time again. I have finished another book I was just dying to share with you. Since I truly loved Prep, I found myself plucking another book by Curtis Sittenfeld off the library shelf.

The Man of My Dreams follows Hannah, who is a mere teenager when we first meet her. Like other adolescent girls, she finds herself obsessing over her self image, interaction with boys and celebrity weddings.

The idea of love follows Hannah through college, where she meets and falls for Henry, who happens to be her cousin’s boyfriend. After graduation, the search for the perfect man continues, as Hannah grows into a professional, young woman.

The same things I loved about Prep remained true with The Man of My Dreams. Mostly, this story was so passionate. Sittenfeld writes in a way that brings you inside her main character’s head. You understand Hannah, her strengths, her thoughts, her passions. So often, a story’s heroine is presented in a way that is all shiny and happy.

Hannah is not a shiny, happy character. She’s complicated, layered and at moment’s in the story, her behavior is borderline ugly. She’s all of us, that scared insecure girl we carry around inside. She’s beautiful.

Though I don’t want to spoil it, I absolutely adored the way this story ended. I literally stayed up until 2 am (on a night when my alarm was set for 6:45) to finish the final chapters.

I will definitely be checking out more by the talented Ms. Sittenfeld.

(In other news…I have started a new book that captivated me from page one and I CANNOT wait to finish and share)

Enjoy, my fellow book worms.

4 Responses to “Erin Likes to Read: The Man of My Dreams Edition”

  1. Emily Jane December 22, 2010 at 11:25 am #

    This sounds like a great read! Although when you said “like most teenagers…” I was thinking, hang on a second, I still obsess over celebrity weddings 🙂

    Interested to hear your next pick! And thank you as always for the sweet comment 🙂

    • erinmakesitwork December 22, 2010 at 5:26 pm #

      Thanks Emily Jane! I still obsess over celebrity weddings too…just for Hannah, it changed as she grew.

  2. Amy --- Just A Titch December 28, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

    Oooh, I want to read this! I loved Prep. I might have to add this to my Kindle 🙂

    • erinmakesitwork December 28, 2010 at 11:00 pm #

      This was a wonderful book in my opinion. Definitely add it to the Kindle and let me know if you enjoy it as much as I did.

Leave a Reply

