Wrapping Up the Holidays

3 Jan

I absolutely adore the holiday season, and it never feels that every year by the time New Year’s arrives, I am exhausted. Thankfully, I just ended up needing extra sleep this week and not ill, as I have in the past.

Still, the wonder that was this holiday season has left me with such a feeling of joy and wonder. I feel strong, confident and ready to tackle all my questions about my direction in life.

My holiday season began with decking the halls, turning my cozy little apartment into a happy, winter wonderland. I was so happy with the decorating I did over the season, that I cannot help but share.

We ended up with two trees, a 6 ft. tree that served as a place for Santa to put all his gifts. I also had a small 4 ft. tree which I decked out with red and gold balls. 

Since we were children, my mother has given my brother and I an ornament for each Christmas. Now that we’re grown and living together, we have our own set of unique, memory-filled ornament to deck the bigger tree. I love this tradition so much, I have continued it by giving my brother and other siblings (blended families are fun), nephew and lovely wife an ornament each year. This year I was able to rope my nephew into decorating the tree with me.

With the lights off, the trees truly filled the apartment with that magical Christmas glow.

My decorating extravaganza did not stop with just adding a few trees to the space. I gave our ugly, standard chandelier a festive makeover and set up some cute vignettes on our table tops. Of course, no Christmas holiday is complete without a gingerbread candle and a snowman candy dish.

This season truly was a wonderful time..a chaotic, crazy time but a wonderful time. I was lucky enough to be able to kick off the season with a private gift exchange with Andrea. We started the tradtion the first year we were together, since we lived with roommates. Though my brother would not be offended, we have continued to do our own “Little Christmas” the week before the 25th.  Then, I hosted a holiday/birthday brunch for a good friend in town from D.C.

Christmas Eve, Andrea and I went to my dad and his gf’s house where we ate cookies, wrapped gifts and went to Christmas Eve service. Unfortunately, Andrea had to work on Christmas Day, so I hung out with my dad.

After she was done, we headed off to Christmas with her family. On the 27th, we finally had my nephew at the house, so Mike, Anne, Jayson and I had our own little family Christmas. Then, I was able to go to dinner with my dad, nephew and other siblings that week.

We wrapped up the whirlwind with a quiet New Year’s Eve spent at Anne’s sisters house and a New Year’s afternoon of Penn State football with Dad. Sadly, I still haven’t seen my mom since the summer, but we’re hoping to correct that soon.

This season helped me shape my focus for next year. Everyone has been talking about their words for the year…and I have two. I’m still trying to find my balance, figure out how what I want relates to what my family needs. So, this year, I am going to live with compassion and consciousness. I will be aware of myself, my choices and live with honestly and kindness.

Though the year is only 3 days old, I’m really excited to see where we are going from here. I hope you’ll be along for the ride.

Was your holiday season filled with magic?

 

6 Responses to “Wrapping Up the Holidays”

  1. Beth Dunn January 3, 2011 at 3:34 pm #

    Your trees look great! I love when there is a little snow at Christmas, that feels like magic
    xoxo
    SC

    • erinmakesitwork January 6, 2011 at 10:17 am #

      Thank you. I had fun trying to bring cheer to the place with limited space and a very limited budget. Now, I don’t want to take it all down. Lol.

  2. Becky January 3, 2011 at 11:10 pm #

    Oooh, the chandelier is my favorite 🙂 It sounds like your holidays were full of family and love.

    My family and I made efforts this year to make our holiday season quiet and peaceful, which was just what we needed.

    And I’m not really one for New Year’s resolutions, but my goal, at least for this month, is to take it easy! (Haha, so not insightful. Sorry!)

    • erinmakesitwork January 6, 2011 at 10:17 am #

      I am not really one for resolutions either. I just want to live life intentionally this year.

  3. Emily Jane January 5, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

    Lovely photos! I adore the “new ornament each year” idea – especially after collecting them for a long time, and being able to look back on the memories of each year 🙂

    I really like your two words for this year, and I’m sure it’s going to be a lovely one for you!

    • erinmakesitwork January 6, 2011 at 10:18 am #

      Thank you! Yes, I defintely recommend the ornament a year gift. It always adds a layer of fun to decorating the tree. It was especially fun this year, as my 5 year old nephew was old enough to understand and was asking me about the things we were putting on the tree.

Leave a Reply

