Look Ma, Pot Roast

10 Jan

 

So, for someone who wants to become a better home cook. I have STRUGGLED with overcoming this fear of meat. I’m not a vegetarian, but I rarely eat beef as I just really do not like the flavor all that much. Plus, things that remind they were animals kind of gross me out. Needless to say, I have not cooked many a good beef dish in my day.

At the store last week, I found this lovely looking pot roast on sale, so I decided to take a stab at it. (pun intended) Unfortunately, my rechargeable batteries decided to die a horrible death, so I didn’t get pictures.

This dish is EASY! It’s also tasty and best of all, gave me yet another reason to break out my favorite kitchen tool, the crock pot!

Things You’ll Need:

2 to 3 pound beef roast
4 large carrots
3 medium onions
4 medium potatos
Chicago grill seasoning
Steak marinade
Parsley
Oregano
Garlic powder
Mushroom gravy
Crock-pot

Step 1: Prep the meat by shaking chicago grill seasoning over all sides.
Step 2: Rub steak marinade over the top and bottom of the meat
Step 3. Cut all the vegetables into large chunks
Step 4: Layer the vegetables into the bottom of the crock pot. Shake parsley, oregano and garlic powder over the veggies to taste.
Step 5: Place the meat on top of the veggies in the crock pot.
Step 6: Cook the entire mixture on low for about 6 hours.
Step 7: Just before serving, heat gravy in a saucepan on the stove. Serve in gravy boat alongside the meat and vegetables.

One Response to “Look Ma, Pot Roast”

  1. Emily Jane January 11, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    Well done you – tackling that fear and making something awesome! 🙂

Leave a Reply

