I’m a People Person…

23 Jan

Source: PhotoXpress

This is me on any given work day…okay, that’s not actually me. I’m more likely to be found on my couch than sitting at a desk, but you get the general idea. I’m a freelance writer for Demand Studios. I spend my day writing and researching articles.

Most of the time, I enjoy my job. I have wanted to write since I was a little kid. Somewhere around college I figured out that I am not a fiction writer, as much as I have always dreamed of  writing the next Great American Novel. Instead, I spend my days writing about various home, garden, pet and craft topics. I enjoy working for Demand and I’ve recommended them to a few friends.

Still, this is not what I want to do forever. Not even a tiny bit. My whole life I thought I wanted to be a writer and now I’m kind of floundering. First of all, I crave more human interaction, instead of what’s written on my computer screen. Also, I need more  of a challenge.

My Dad and his girlfriend are firm believers in the fact that you have to love what you do to really want to do it. My brother, Dad and D have all found their passion in medicine. Somedays I feel like I am waiting for that ah-ha moment. The one where I suddenly figure out what I want to be when I grow up.

So, lately, I have been doing a lot of soul searching on the subject. Trying to figure out my next step. In college, I realized my favorite class was my Law class, and I have been leaning toward something in that field. I am thinking about taking paralegal courses. I even went so far as to take a career aptitude test…which revealed to me that…

I am a people person

In fact…this is what it said:

You are very gifted at dealing with other people.  Your compassion and empathy make you a natural for any careers that require nurturing and encouraging people on a daily basis. 

Given your strong ability to put yourself in others’ shoes coupled with your equally strong desire to help people, some possible career choices for you might include: nurse, psychologist, or teacher. 

Source: Sixwise.com

Well no wonder I am dissatisfied with my only interaction being between me and this computer screen. Thank you, internet quiz (of course I take this with a big grain of salt).

 I think I am going to give paralegal courses some more thought.

Any ideas? What do you want to be when you grow up?

2 Responses to “I’m a People Person…”

  1. meorthethoughtofme January 25, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    This same issue has been popping up with me too. I always thought that because of my introversion that a career as a writer seemed ideal–perfect. But while I do crave alone time, I also really crave human interaction. All of the aptitude tests I have taken all tell me the same thing: I need to be of service. I should be a teacher, a counselor or therapist, a lawyer, a minister, a doctor, a professor, a social worker, and interior designer, etc. I’m sure you’re the same way.

    I think where I’m caught up is that in order to either teach (and I did used to want to be a college prof) or become a therapist (still definitely on my dream list), it requires additional education. And my current financial and familial obligations don’t really support that. Hopefully in due time though.

    (Actually, this is kind of what I was stressing out about the other night.)

    • erinmakesitwork January 25, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

      Yeah this is definitely where I struggle. I have a love/hate relationship with the public. I want to help, but I don’t know if I am capable of helping. It is just a weird cycle. Anyway, I finished a psych minor, sometimes I wish I would have stuck with it and just become a therapist. Then, I love wrapping my mind around legal issues too. I just don’t know. I need to find a passion. I am just not sure what that passion is. I’m glad you always seem to understand.

Leave a Reply

