Wedding Confessions

15 Mar

copyright: PhotoXpress

I married my very best friend just about a year and a half ago in a simple, casual ceremony at a park in New Jersey. We planned it on a shoestring budget and for us, it was wonderful. What surprised me about my wedding day was that things I shunned for my day: the big, white dress, established dance floor and more formal food were things that I miss looking back on my day.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I married my best friend. That’s first and foremost, the most important thing.

I had some of the people who love me most there and present. I was missing a few others who could not make it due to circumstances they could not control. I did not realize going into my big day how much I would miss a handful of people who mean more to me than many others.

Except for a few close friends (thank you, Becky, Ashlee, Kaity, Randa and Marie), a couple family members and my wonderful sisters-in-law, I do not feel like many people took my celebration seriously. For me, that’s hard to deal with.

Some of these “downfalls” were definitely my fault, especially because I let other dramas in life overshadow my day. The truth of the matter is, I found the right person, now I want to have the right celebration.

So for now, I am dreaming of  a redux on an upcoming anniversary. Maybe, I will even get lucky enough that things will change and we can celebrate our union with the legal papers (but that’s a post for another day).

The next time around I want:

  • to give Anne more of things she has dreamed of, instead of just the colors and feelings I wanted.
  • the people who really matter in attendance
  • amazing food
  • quality music
  • time for actual posed photos
  • a feeling of celebration in the air

Things I am dreaming of:

Autumn in the Mountains

Cream and Gold

with touches of purple mixed in

An old fashioned barn dance

lit with rustic lanterns

4 Responses to “Wedding Confessions”

  1. Emily Jane March 15, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    It’s funny you posted this today because my husband and I were just talking about things we’d change about the wedding if we had the chance. I would’ve had the people that REALLY mattered in attendance, and in my bridal party too, instead of people who I was just “obliged” to have there and haven’t said two words to me since the wedding! I also probably would’ve done my own makeup, hired a different hairdresser (who knew how to work extensions!), and paid the extra money to have all-day footage and not just half the day. Oh well, live and learn, and you’re right, the most important thing is already taken care of 🙂

    • erinmakesitwork March 15, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

      I know its funny how you look back and realize that somehow the magic of the day gets mixed up with people and drama. Still, we’re incredibly lucky that we have found the person that shows us real love. Plus, there’s always vow renewal ceremonies! Also, I am grateful for the power of the internet, bringing awesome people like you into my little world.

  2. Deidre March 17, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

    I would imagine that planning a wedding is extraordinarily difficult.

    I hope you get to have another celebration that kind of fill those voids. But if not, you’re right, you’ve got the most important thing…You married your best friend!

    • erinmakesitwork March 17, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

      I know, and for that I will always be extraordinarly grateful. That’s what really matters. Sometimes I feel selfish wanting anoter wedding, but then I think about how love should always be celebrated and I feel a bit better.

Leave a Reply

